How to: Visa for Spouse of a Japanese National (Temporary Visit)

I am less busy today so I feel like writing about Spouse visa. It’s not what you think it is. It’s actually called Visa for Spouse of a Japanese National (Temporary Visit). It’s a tourist visa which is only for those who have a Japanese spouse with a long term visa status living in the Philippines and has submitted a report of residency (Zairyu Todoke) at the Embassy of Japan in the Philippines. My husband has just applied for 13 A visa recently and you can read my post about it here. He has also submitted a report of residency (Zairyu Todoke) online as instructed by the consulate officer when we paid a visit one time. They told him that any updates done with them would cause us to visit the consulate each time we wanted or needed any changes. However, if we opted to do it online (which is convenient) we could do other updates online as well. Not bad for busy folks like us.

binibiningcinnamon_spousevisajapan_japanembassy

Yesterday , (Wednesday) I got my visa granted for the second time. The agency sent an email to my husband and a text message (to me) informing me that my visa was granted. My father in law was my guarantor the first time we applied for my visa and this time around, it’s my husband who guarantee for the trip. It is an eight day vacation in Kobe with our little munchkin. We are going to attend my brother in law’s wedding which I heard was a fabulous one, have a Buddhism Ceremony for Kai, meet a friend, and do a kind of simulation on how is it really like to live in Japan. Exciting! And scary.

I’m going to share here everything we did to prepare for the visa. It felt like it’s a lot easier than the previous one.

Last 31st of May, 2017 we applied for my ‘spouse’ visa. The last time we applied for it was in June 2015. It was a Tourist Visa with a Guarantor. I was able to get my visa granted in five days from the time of the application. You may check my post here.

The agency we used way back in 2015 was Friendship Tours Manila which was in Dusit Thani hotel, Makati City. Fortunately, they have their branch in Cebu, where we are currently living. At the agency, a Japanese representative collected our documents. My husband and she had a conversation regarding the documents and processing. She checked each, but I was just quite surprised when she removed the receipt of the birth and married certificates. According to the embassy website, the birth and married certificates should not be one year older from the time of its release. I just got those recently and only the receipts would prove that those certificates were recent. She probably knew what she was doing. I was asked to sign a piece of paper which has the rules of the agency.  Anyways, the time we spent there took less than 20 minutes, I guess. We were informed that the documents and the passports would be shipped to the Japan Embassy in Manila that day, Wednesday, and it would arrive Friday. The process would take five to seven working days.

REQUIREMENTS:

  • passport (My passport was just renewed and they asked me to submit my old passport as well)
  • visa application form which you may download online or acquire at the embassy or your chosen agency.
  • photo 4.5×4.5 white background taken within 6 months
  • NSO birth certificate (1 year)
  • Marriage Certificate since I’m married
  • Explanation letter/reason to enter
  • photocopy of my husband’s passport (all pages with stamps)
  • ACR card
  • My husband’s certificate of employment
  • His ITR certificate

Additional documents I included, not required though

  • CFO
  • Photocopy of my PRC license
  • flight ticket

We applied Wednesday and received the visa in seven (7) days. I’ll be posting about our trip soon!

 

binibining cinnamon

One thought on “How to: Visa for Spouse of a Japanese National (Temporary Visit)

Leave a Reply

