How to: Passport for Half Japanese Half Filipino Baby

It has been a long time since I had a good sleep. When I was pregnant with my Kai, I used to sleep every afternoon for 2 to 4 hours. God! I miss those days. I would wake up and look for food. Go back to sleep when I felt satisfied. Those days were long gone. It will never happen again. My life is composed of restless days, sleepless nights, wet shirt from overflowing milk, endless worry and of course, a beautiful and healthy baby. Taking care of a human being is tiring but at the same time it is rewarding. An incredible feeling.

Kai is half Japanese and half Filipino. Upon registering him as a citizen of Japan (post soon!), we applied for his Philippine passport. He may also apply for a Japanese passport later. It is the privilege he has. Today, I am going to talk about the process of the application

1.SECURE THE REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 

-valid passport of parent/ parent with photocopy
-Certified True Copy of Birth Certificate issued by the Local Civil Registrar and duly authenticated by PSA
– Notarized Affidavit of Explanation executed by either parent (if minor is a legitimate child)
– Marriage Certificate of minor’s parents duly authenticated by PSA (for legitimate child)

2.  HEAD TO DFA
I brought my son to the DFA and because of it, I was in priority lane. No need to book an appointment or wait in line. The guard checked the documents I had and let me in right away. The clerk checked (again) the documents and asked me whether I would want to pay for the regular price (950 for 20 business days) or express (1200 for 10 business days) although the website says otherwise. Since I was not in a rush, I opt to pay the regular price of 950 pesos at the cashier. Upon paying, I waited for a minute then my name was called and was directed to the processing area where they took a picture or pictures of Kai. This was where we took time. Kai was sleeping and we had to wake him up. He was so sleepy that whenever we tried to wake him up, he would just roll his eyes and get back to sleep. After so many tries, the staff was able to snap a picture of him with his eyes open.

3. COPY DFA PHONE NUMBERS AND KEEP THE RECEIPT

This is important since DFA is far from our apartment. Calling them saved time. I applied for ds’s passport December 13, 2016, called them January 16 for confirmation and I was able to claim it January 17, 2017 although they marked the receipt January 11.

binibiningcinnamon_philippinepassport_dfa_halfjapanesehalffilipinobaby1
Enter a caption

This passport is valid 5 for years. Kai is now ready for his international adventure! Yay!

binibiningcinnamon

Leave a Reply

